Broom of the System

David Foster WALLACE

Item#: 111778 We're sorry, this item has been sold

Book Image

“MOST REALLY PRETTY GIRLS HAVE PRETTY UGLY FEET”: FIRST EDITION OF THE BROOM OF THE SYSTEM

WALLACE, David Foster. The Broom of the System. (New York): Viking, (1987). Octavo, original half black cloth, original dust jacket.

First edition of Wallace’s acclaimed debut novel.

In the tradition of Pynchon's The Crying of Lot 49, Wallace's first novel, written while he was a 24-year-old MFA student, "attempts to give us a portrait, through a combination of Joycean word games, literary parody and zany picaresque adventure, of a contemporary America run amok… Wallace possesses a wealth of talents—a finely-tuned ear for contemporary idioms; an old-fashioned story-telling gift (as evidenced, in particular, by the stories within stories contained in this novel); a seemingly endless capacity for invention and an energetic refusal to compromise" (New York Times).

Fine condition.

add to my wishlist ask an Expert shipping & guarantee

Other books from the same author(s)



Author's full list of books

WALLACE, David Foster >