Collection of Novels


add to my shopping bag

Item#: 70796 price:$1,900.00

Collection of Novels
Collection of Novels


SMILEY, Jane. Collection of Novels. New York: Harper & Row / Simon and Schuster / Alfred A. Knopf, 1980-2007. Eleven volumes altogether. Octavo, original half cloth, original dust jackets. $1900.

First editions of Smiley’s first eleven novels, from her first work of fiction Barn Blind (1980) to her Pulitzer Prize-winning A Thousand Acres (1991), basis for the acclaimed 1997 film, and culminating in her novel Ten Days in the Hills (2007), with three signed by her on the title page: Barn Blind, Duplicate Keys, Horse Heaven.

Assembled here are the impressive works of fiction by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jane Smiley, who is critically hailed as "one of the premiere novelists of her generation" (Washington Post Book World). "In her sensuous responsiveness to the facts of the world. Smiley has started to look like the best living American novelist" (The Observer). This collection of all first editions begins with Smiley's first novel Barn Blind (1980) and continues through At Paradise Gate (1981), Duplicate Keys (1984), The Greenlanders (1988), Ordinary Love & Good Will (1989), A Thousand Acres (1991), Moo (1995), The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton (1998), Horse Heaven (2000), Good Faith (2003), and is completed by her 2007 novel Ten Days in the Hills. Smiley's A Thousand Acres, with its resonant evocation of Shakespeare's King Lear, earned the 1992 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and was adapted to the screen in the 1997 film starring Jessica Lange. In 2006 Smiley was awarded the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award. With Barn Blind, Duplicate Keys and Horse Heaven each signed on the title page by Smiley. Owner signatures.

A fine outstanding collection.

add to my wishlist ask an Expert

This Book has been Viewed 2698 Time(s).