Border Trilogy


Item#: 117123 We're sorry, this item has been sold

Book Image


MCCARTHY, Cormac. All the Pretty Horses. WITH: The Crossing. WITH: Cities of the Plain. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1992-98. Three volumes. Octavo, original half black cloth, original dust jackets.

Scarce first editions of the three novels in McCarthy's acclaimed "Border Trilogy," a fine set.

According to The New York Times, Cormac McCarthy's Border Trilogy is "a miracle in prose, an American original. Composed of three works—All the Pretty Horses, The Crossing, and Cities of the Plain—the trilogy traces the lives of two young men coming into adulthood in the changing Southwest. "A taut, poetic evocation of the remote backcountry of south Texas and northern Mexico, [All the Pretty Horses is] strongly imagined and beautifully rendered by a very fine writer—one of our best—who deserves far more renown. The perception of horses is extraordinary, and Jimmy Blevins will take a place as one of the great characters of American literature" (Peter Matthiessen). "More discursive than All the Pretty Horses, [The Crossing] presents a sharp-eyed revision of the meaning of the West in the American consciousness" (Chronology of American Literature). "Told in both McCarthy's signature lyrical style and his dead-on ranchero dialogue, Cities of the Plain ends the trilogy at the height of McCarthy's storytelling skill" (Stacey Peebles, Cormac McCarthy Society). Issued the same year as a signed limited editon, no priority has been established with regard to The Crossing. With "First Edition" on copyright pages of all three volumes.

In fine condition.

add to my wishlist ask an Expert shipping & guarantee