Symphonic Ode


add to my shopping bag

Item#: 101970 price:$500.00

Symphonic Ode
Symphonic Ode


COPLAND, Aaron. Symphonic Ode. New York: Boosey & Hawkes, circa 1957. Quarto, original wrappers, p. 69. $500.

Hawkes Pocket Scores edition, inscribed on the title page by Aaron Copland, "For Phillip from" with a circle around his printed first name.

Copland "wrote three symphonies, the early Organ Symphony, the Short Symphony, and the Third. The Third is by far the best known of the three, and its Shostakovich Fifth ending brings audiences to their feet. It also shows that Copland never completely lost his taste for the grandiose… If you want a Copland symphony, you do much better with the Short Symphony; if you want Copland in the rhetorical manner of the Third Symphony, you do better with the splendid and almost unknown Symphonic Ode" (Steinberg, The Symphony, 131). Together with a first edition of the full score of the Symphonic Ode, stamped "complimentary copy" on the front wrapper and with "rejected copy" written on the title page in pencil.

Fine condition.

add to my wishlist ask an Expert

This Book has been Viewed 1338 Time(s).

Author's full list of books

COPLAND, Aaron >