Charlotte, Emily and Anne BRONTE

Item#: 122978 We're sorry, this item has been sold

Book Image
Alternate image
Alternate image


BRONTË, Charlotte, Emily and Anne. Novels. London: Allan Wingate, 1949. Six volumes. Small octavo, modern half green calf gilt, raised bands, marbled endpapers. Housed together in custom cloth slipcase.

"Heather Edition" of the novels of the Brontë sisters, each volume with an introduction by Phyllis Bentley, handsomely bound.

"They had neither wealth nor power… what they did have was the vicarious experience of books and an irrepressible creativity… More than anything else, however, they had each other… Without this intense family relationship, some of the greatest novels in the English language would never have been written" (Barker, 830). Includes Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre, Shirley, Villette, and The Professor; Emily Brontë's Wuthering Heights; Anne Brontë's Tenant of Wildfell Hall and Agnes Grey; as well as a volume containing short stories by Charlotte Brontë and poems by both Emily and Anne Brontë. Phyllis Bentley, the editor of this edition and herself an accomplished novelist, produced three biographical works about the Brontë sisters: The Brontës (1947), The Young Brontës (1960), and The Brontës and Their World (1969).

A fine and lovely set.

add to my wishlist ask an Expert shipping & guarantee

Other books from the same author(s)

Author's full list of books

BRONTE, Charlotte, Emily and Anne >